Tags

Sunday, 3pm and I was in Uganda. My first time here and I already loved it. I am in Entebbe, a port town of Uganda to attend a regional workshop aimed at strengthening writing skills of African women to tell compelling social change stories.

WP_20140721_001

I was elated that I am in the midst of over 24 women writers from 10 countries whose names I read in blogs, seen on books, and heard them speak in International forums. I was here. I was one of them

I am joining Njoki Wamai, Alexis Teyie, Hannah Wanja and Kagure Mugo from Kenya in the first creative non-fiction writer’s seminar organized by African Women’s Development Fund in collaboration with Uganda Women Writers Association (Femrite). Our trainers are Martina Mamle Kabu author of The Kaya Girl among other books/stories and Yewande Omotoso author of Bom Boy.

I have also meet, Nana Darkoh from AWDF; Abena Kyere, Ghana; Adegbeye Olutimehin, Nigeria; Amina Doherty, Nigeria; Beatrice Lamwaka, Uganda; Comfort Mussa, Cameroon; Deborah Frempong , Ghana; Fafa Yvonne Quashigah, Ghana; Florence Khaxas, Namibia; Jennifer Thorpe, South Africa; Kechi Nomu, Nigeria; Moiyattu Banya, Sierra Leone; Rita Nketiah, Ghana; Ritah Atwongyeire, Uganda; Tendai Garwe, Zimbabwe; and Valérie Dginia Bah, Benin/Haiti.

Looking forward to our discussions, lessons and learning in the next ten days!

WP_20140721_018

Follow the hash tag #AWW14 on twitter for updates on the workshop.

